Review / The Riddle of Ages

riddle-of-agesBook: Mysterious Benedict Society & the Riddle of Ages (2019)
Author: Trenton Lee Stewart
Genre: MG, Adventure

Basic plot: The Mysterious Benedict Society is back. The kids are older, and this time, they have a new recruit: five-year-old Tai. Their challenge is to break into the old institute-turned-prison to rescue Mr. Benedict and his criminal twin brother from certain death. But, with McCracken and the rest of the Ten Men close on their heels, it’s not going to be easy.

WHAT’S COOL…

1) What fun to be back with Reynie, Kate, Sticky, and Constance. Even though they are considerably older. (From what I can guess is that the three older ones are around 16 or 17; Constance would be around 7.)

2) Tai was a nice addition. I was quite skeptical about him at first, and at times he was a little “too cute”. But he fits in nicely with the plot, especially the part at the end. I think it was also good to get another kid into the story since the three older ones have grown up so much.

3) Lots of riddles and adventure in this one. I’m horrible at solving riddles, but I do enjoy seeing the Society figure them out. (Or should I say, Reynie is the one that always figures them out.)

4) Milligan has a nice little cameo. Probably one of my favourite parts of the story. I wish he was in it a little more, but I understand why he wasn’t.

5) One of my least favourite developments of this series has been Constance’s telepathic abilities. However, I didn’t actually mind it in this story. I felt it worked really well within the plot. And I will say, overall, I have really grown to like Constance as a character. Sure, she’s moody. But she’s interesting. And not quite as contrary as she is in the other books.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I was excited when I first found out about the existence of this book about a year ago. BUT, I was also skeptical. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This book had all the fun worthy of a Mysterious Benedict Society book. The kids are older (and really, with the exception of Constance and Tai, no longer “kids”) but their characters remained true. And I liked how Stewart was able to bring together all the events of this book.


YOUR TURN…

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

Note: I’m posting this for Greg Pattridge’s Marvelous Middle-Grade Monday

19 thoughts on “Review / The Riddle of Ages

  1. I really enjoyed this one and thought it was a fitting end to the Mysterious Benedict Society series. Like you, I at first wasn’t sure about Tai. It seemed like he was brought in as a “replacement” kid to be cute because everyone else was growing up, but he grew on me. And, like you, I never really liked Constance’s telepathy–it never seemed to fit in with everyone else’s talents, seemed too “magical.” But it worked here. I loved returning to the world of the MBS!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had no idea there was a new book in this series out! I didn’t love books 2 and 3 in the series, but book 1 was so great (as was the prequel about Mr. Benedict) that I may have to get a copy of this! I’m curious about what Reynie, Kate, and Sticky are like as teenagers. Thanks for the great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also haven’t read this series but have heard a lot about the first book. This one sounds like it successfully continues the story line. I’ve added them both to my TBR list. Thanks for featuring on MMGM and congratulation on your top spot today.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the Mysterious Benedict Society! I didn’t know there was a new book out. I’m planning on reading the prequel about Nicholas Benedict this summer, but this will be next on my list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s been awhile since he published Book #3. I think that was supposed to be the final book in the series. So, I was also surprised to see this book pop up in my feed. I’m usually pretty skeptical when it comes to books like this. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don’t. I’m glad I enjoyed this one!

      Like

  5. Pingback: My Top Reads… from 2020 | Of Maria Antonia

Leave a comment