Space-Themed Books for a Solar Eclipse

20240408ma_0394

It’s Solar Eclipse Day here. And I live in the Solar Eclipse band. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book ABOUT an eclipse, have you? Anyway, I’m shining the spotlight on some of my favorite celestial or space-themed middle-grade books.


wedreamofspaceWe Dream of Space (2020)
By Erin Entrada Kelly
Genre: MG, Historical

This book is about the Challenger disaster in the 1980s. It follows the story of three siblings as they navigate school and all the hype surrounding the shuttle launch (putting the first teacher into Space!). One of my favorite scenes (early on in the book) is when the teacher, Ms. Salonga, has the class imagine they are going through the steps of a shuttle launch; that they are the astronauts taking a last-minute simulation. Read my full review here.

Another good historical book (about the Moon landing): I Love You, Michael Collins


connectthestarsConnect the Stars (2015)
By Marisa de los Santos & David Teague
Genre: MG, Survival

This is a wilderness survival book. And when you’re lost in the middle of nowhere, you use the stars! In the story, Audrey and Aaron have special abilities (superpowers, if you will). I love how these prove to be their downfall at the beginning of the story, and that they have to “learn” how to use them. And I love the juxtaposition of the “abilities” of the others in their group (Kate and Louis). While their abilities aren’t quite as spectacular, the four of them make a good team! This book also has a little mystery thrown in. Read my full review here.


lastcuentistaThe Last Cuentista (2021)
Author: Donna Barba Higuera
Genre: MG, Sci-fi

You can’t have a list of Space-themed books without some sci-fi titles! And this book is such a wonderful mix of sci-fi and … folklore. (Not your typical mixture, that’s for sure.) Lita’s stories (that Petra later makes her own) filter through the futuristic spaceship and exploration setting. I love how Petra’s audience (the other children) are drawn to her cuentos (stories), especially the one boy Voxy who has never known life outside of the spaceship. Read my full review here.


sputniks-guideSputnik’s Guide to Life on Earth
By Frank Cottrell Boyce
Genre: MG, Contemporary/Alien

Prez meets an alien/dog named Sputnik (he’s really an alien, but everybody thinks he’s a dog). Sputnik’s goal is to save Earth from annihilation. The plot connects realism with complete fantasy very well. There are some crazy, memorable moments, including the light sabre and Hadrian’s Wall (not in any way connected, by the way, but I won’t spoil it here). The space history buff in me got quite excited when Laika (the first dog in Space) came into the story. The best parts are Prez and the Grandad. I would definitely spend an afternoon with them, as long as they promised Sputnik wasn’t going to show up! Read my full review here.

Another good book by the same author (about a kid who goes into Space!): Cosmic

YOUR TURN…

Have you read any of these books? Do you have other books about space that you love? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

And let me know if you saw the solar eclipse today!

I’m posting this for Greg Pattridge’s Marvelous Middle-Grade Monday

7 thoughts on “Space-Themed Books for a Solar Eclipse

  1. Great selection of books and the only one I had not read was The Last Cuentista. Such great companions to the historic day across North America. I’m glad you were ready with your camera for a view of what you experienced. Happy MMGM!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Review / Now You Say Yes | Of Maria Antonia

Leave a comment