PB Review / The Little Green Envelope

20240224ma_0317Book: The Little Green Envelope (2023)
Author: Gillian Sze
Illustrator: Claudine Crangle
Publisher: Groundwood Books
Genre: Picture Book

Opening Lines of the Book…
It was her usual Sunday with Grandpa, but Olive was not her usual self.

She did not touch a single one of the chocolates. She didn’t tickety-tat-tat on the old typewriter. Instead, Olive flopped onto the armchair and sighed.

MY THOUGHTS…

How wonderful is this book! I really enjoyed that this story starts from the POV of the human (especially the girl) but goes into the POV of the green envelope. As somebody who used to have lots of penpals, I loved seeing how mail moves. And how much joy letters bring to people.

I love how the art is made out of paper cutouts. Perfect for the subject matter of the book! And what’s so neat at the end… it shows you how to make/fold your own little green envelope!

20240224ma_0319

 

12 CHALLENGE

12 months to feature 12 picture books…

This picture book review is part of a monthly challenge I’ve set for myself. Have a recommendation for me? I’d love to hear about it in the comments.  I may just feature your pick one of these months!

2 thoughts on “PB Review / The Little Green Envelope

Leave a comment