Review / Laura Ingalls Wilder Companion

20231202ma_2244Book: The Laura Ingalls Wilder Companion (2020)
Author: Annette Whipple
Publisher: Chicago Review Press
Genre: Non-Fiction


Opening lines from the book …
Dear Reader,
I remember the Little House books from my elementary school’s library stacks, when Mrs. Rhinehart shelved them in the back of the library. I visited those shelves again and again. Laura Ingalls Wilder’s stories stay with me throughout my life; I returned to them books as an adult and loved the stories even more. Then I shared them with my children.

What makes this book stand out …

This is the perfect book for every fan of the Little House series! It goes book by book (and as the subtitle says: Chapter by chapter), listing activities and such that are done in each book. Like those wonderful vanity cakes from On the Banks of Plum Creek that Ma makes for the Country Party. There’s a recipe! There are sooo many activities. The book also details the history behind the books. In The Long Winter, this book discusses how accurate Laura’s memory was with all the blizzards.

I really enjoyed this book. Of “hanging out” with Laura and Mary and Ma and Pa. Aand of course, Carrie and Grace. Oh, and Almanzo! This would make a great Christmas gift for anyone who loves the Little House books. (I already got my copy!)

20231202ma_2242


YOUR TURN…

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

Note: I’m posting this for Greg Pattridge’s Marvelous Middle-Grade Monday

P.S. My own author newsletter comes out later today. To sign up it, go my website at http://mariaantoniawrites.com 

8 thoughts on “Review / Laura Ingalls Wilder Companion

  1. I’m so glad you found The Laura Ingalls Wilder Companion and featured it here! THANK YOU! Though it’s been out for three years, lots of Little House fans still haven’t heard of it. Thank you for sharing about it!

    Like

Leave a comment