PB Review / Braver Than Brave

20240420ma_0425Book: Braver Than Brave (2022)
Author: Janet Sumner Johnson
Illustrator: Eunji Jung
Publisher: Capstone
Genre: Picture Book

Opening Lines of the Book…
Wanda’s big brother was the bravest kid she knew. Zane crossed the monkey bars when he was four. He did a solo trip down Skeleton Hill when he was five. He conquered the rope swing at Camp Wakalaka when he was six!

MY THOUGHTS…

This book is all about how Wanda wants to be brave to ride the Coaster of Doom … just like her brother and her friends. But she’s scared. And determined. She goes into training to prepare herself. As someone who rode her own Coaster of Doom at age five, I definitely understood Wanda’s dilemma. (In my case, I didn’t realize you could close your eyes while on the roller coaster. That ride put me off coasters until I was in high school.)

I loved the illustrations in the book, especially Wanda and her hair puffs! And I love the message of finding your brave and that there are different sorts of brave out there. (The ending is quite humorous after setting big brother Zane up as the bravest of all!)

I highly recommend this book!

20240421ma_0426

 

 

12 CHALLENGE

12 months to feature 12 picture books…

This picture book review is part of a monthly challenge I’ve set for myself. Have a recommendation for me? I’d love to hear about it in the comments.  I may just feature your pick one of these months!

Leave a comment