Writing to Jane Austen

20161124ma_5506If you could write to your favourite author, who would you write?

For me, probably one of the first people on the list would be Jane Austen. Except, I can’t write her. Because she’s dead. 200 years dead. Yes, today is the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s death in 1817.

That’s when I realized that all my favourite authors are… DEAD.

Okay, that’s not completely true. I like plenty of modern-day authors. I seek out their books. I get excited when I see a new book with their name on it.

But that’s not what I mean. The authors that I’d really, really admire are all dead. Jane Austen. Dead. L.M. Montgomery. Dead. E. Nesbit. Dead. Charlotte Bronte. Dead. Laura Ingalls Wilder. Dead. C.S. Lewis. Dead. Arthur Ransome. Dead.

Okay, so what IF they were still alive? What would I want to tell them? These are the writers of the books that I love. They are the books I pick up again and again. I grew up with many of the books. Like C.S. Lewis, Laura Ingalls Wilder, or L.M. Montgomery. But not all of them fit into that category.

Take E. Nesbit. I discovered her books at University. Yes, they’re kids’ books. But they are magical. Same goes for Arthur Ransome. (Although, magical in a completely different way.)

So, what would I write? I guess I would want to thank them for creating stories that mean something. For creating characters that really live.

So…

Thank-you, Jane Austen, for Emma and Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion and Sense and Sensibility!

Thank-you, L.M. Mongomery for that feisty red-head, Anne!

Thanks, E. Nesbit, for those treasure-seeking Bastables and the Five Children and It.

To Charlotte Bronte, I love your Jane Eyre. Thank-you!

C.S. Lewis, you created a world I absolutely adore. I’m still looking for the wardrobe that leads into Narnia. Seriously, I’d like to go. (But in a time of peace, maybe.)

Thank-you Arthur Ransome for those adventures on the lake with the Swallows and Amazons!

And many thanks to Laura Ingalls Wilder for explaining every detail of pioneer living! Every. Detail. I lapped it up!

So, if you could write to your favourite author… who would it be and what would you say?

Leave a Reply

