Taking Pictures

20160827ma_3888

I take pictures.

I got my first camera when I was 9 years old… from a cereal box. I remember collecting the coupons from the back of the box to send away with $10 to get that camera. It was beige and used 110 film. It was a cheap camera. But it was mine. And with it, I took pictures.

And to tell you the truth, my first shots weren’t really that good. But I practiced. I became our family photographer. Eventually I graduated to more advanced cameras and even developed some of my photos in a dark room.

Today, I use a digital camera and Photoshop is my dark room.

As a kid, all I knew was that I liked to take photos. Today I see my photography as a creative extension of who I am.

20170520ma_1236

There’s a line in one of my favourite movies, Chariots of Fire. The movie is the story of two runners preparing for the 1924 Olympics. One of them, Eric Liddell, has put his journey to China to become a missionary on hold. The movie creates tension in a scene when his sister expresses fear that he is forgetting his true purpose in life: to go to China. He responds to her: “I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run, I feel His pleasure.”

I think that’s what I feel when I click the camera’s shutter button. The pleasure of God. I love looking at the world, with all the colour and interesting shapes and patterns. I love the stories that a photo can tell.

20170519ma_1198

We all have some need to express ourselves by creating. And that will mean different things for different people.

For me, it means that I take pictures.

Leave a Reply

