Rating the Chronicles

20160204ma_0260If I had to rate the books in the Chronicles of Narnia in order of my favourite to my least-favourite, I could do it. It’d be hard, but yes, I could do it.

Mind you, the order has changed over the years. As a kid, I did not really like The Silver Chair or The Horse and His Boy. I’m pretty sure the reason for this is simply because neither of these stories feature the Pevensie children. (Okay, The Horse and His Boy has King Edmund, Queen Susan, and Queen Lucy, but they’re minor characters.) Fast forward to today, and those two books rank much, much higher in my estimation.

My Ranking (as a kid)

#1 – The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
#2 – The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
#3 – The Magician’s Nephew
#4 – The Last Battle
#5 – Prince Caspian
#6 – The Horse and His Boy
#7 – The Silver Chair

My Ranking (as an adult)

#1 – The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
#2 – The Horse and His Boy
#3 – The Silver Chair
#4 – The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
#5 – Prince Caspian
#6 – The Magician’s Nephew
#7 – The Last Battle (Sorry, I think this is due to how Shift treats Puzzle!)

Please note: I love ALL the books. Just because one is ranked lower on the list doesn’t mean I hate it. No indeed. It just means I’d prefer to re-read the other ones first. 🙂

And if I had to give the books ratings, they’d all be either 4 or 5 Stars!

2 thoughts on “Rating the Chronicles

  1. The Silver Chair was my favorite when I was a kid! I think it was because I secretly had a crush on Prince Rillian!
    Here’s my favorites order now:
    1) The Horse and His Boy (but might be a tie between this and “Lion…”– I just pick “Horse…” because I have to be different)
    2) The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe
    3) The Magician’s Nephew
    4) The Silver Chair
    5) The Last Battle
    6) The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
    7) Prince Caspian

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a kid, I think Silver Chair was lowest on my list due to the cover of the book. Yes, we judge books by their covers all the time! I still don’t like that particular cover, but I’ve come to love the book inside. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

